Strategy & Advisory
From A to Z: the complete online marketing glossary for website operators and digital agencies
Konstantin Strauß
Junior Sales Manager
Published
April 15th, 2022
Updated
May 4th, 2022
7 min
A/B Testing
A/B testing, also known as split testing, is the process of creating two very similar versions of a system and directly comparing them to see which performs better.
Example: Two versions of a landing page are created and randomly distributed to half of the users. Then, it is checked which version generates more desired actions. This version then serves as a new status for further improvements.
Backend
The backend deals with the data layer and data processing in the background. Of the various functional layers, the backend is the deepest layer that all higher layers refer to. The opposite of the backend is the frontend.
Backlinks
Backlinks are links that lead from one website to another. They play an important role in ranking the website higher in search engine results.
Blog
Blogs are regularly updated websites consisting of individual blog entries. Weblogs can be created easily using content management software such as Webflow and lead to a website where the latest updates are displayed first.
Bounce Rate
The bounce rate is the percentage of visits where a person only views one page of your website before leaving it without any interaction.
Call to Action (CTA)
In marketing, a call to action (CTA) is a specific prompt that encourages consumers to perform a particular action. Examples include "Click here to learn more!" or "Request now!". These types of statements can be used on a website or banner.
Click-through Rate (CTR)
Click-through rate (CTR) refers to the number of clicks on an advertisement, marketing banner, or (affiliate) link in relation to the number of impressions. If an ad has been clicked on 5 times out of 100 views, the CTR is therefore 5/100 = 5%.
Content Marketing
Content marketing is about offering something valuable to the reader by promoting oneself through content. The content must be current and unique enough to stand out. Content marketing is an important topic for any company. It is a key factor for search engine optimization, community building, and word of mouth.
Conversion Rate
Conversion rates can be used as a measure of the success of marketing efforts. Higher conversion rates indicate higher customer interest, and higher customer interest indicates high customer satisfaction. The conversion rate can be determined by counting the percentage of people who click on links that are advertised. For example, if 1000 users are specifically targeted and 800 click on the link, this would result in a conversion rate of 80 percent.
Cookies
Cookies are small data packets that the browser saves when a website is visited. They are a way for the browser to remember details about what users like without having to constantly reset them. This data is stored locally - only in the browser, not on the website or its servers. Examples include selected language and page display options.
CSS
CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) separates content and design of a page. In this layer, size and colour or any other formatting can be defined and assigned to the corresponding element/content.
Customer Journey
Customer Journey, often also called User Journey or Buyer's Journey, is a process that customers go through from initial contact to purchase. The Customer Journey includes all touchpoints that a customer can have with a company, brand, or offer. It is often associated with User Experience (UX) and UX Design.
Customer Relationship Management (CRM)
Customer Relationship Management (CRM) is an essential part of successful marketing. CRM involves researching, analyzing, and potentially influencing the relationship with the customer using various tools.
Dashboard
A marketing dashboard is a software for managing all marketing activities. The dashboard provides an overview of all digital and offline touchpoints in one place. A marketing dashboard can help marketing managers to figure out what they need to focus their efforts on.
Double Opt-In
With double opt-in, the person has to agree twice, whereas with single opt-in, there is only one agreement. It is necessary, for example, in newsletter marketing to comply with GDPR regulations.
E-Commerce
E-commerce is used to make purchases over the internet. Online shops are a central point of e-commerce, where goods and/or services can be purchased.
Email Marketing
Email marketing is a type of direct marketing that mainly uses email messages to sell products and provide information content. With the help of email marketing, a company's brand awareness can be increased and new leads and customers can be gained. Customer retention can also be promoted in this way.
Employee Advocacy
In short, employee advocacy is word-of-mouth advertising in the digital age. Employees should be encouraged to talk about the company or their products/brands. By sharing company content through their own social media accounts, employees become brand ambassadors and thus create recommendation effects.
Employer Branding
Employer branding is about telling the world what makes your company an attractive employer. In times of skilled labour shortages, it's important to position your company as interesting and desirable in order to attract productive employees who contribute to your company's success.
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Engagement Rate
The engagement rate is the number of followers who have liked, commented, or shared your post within a certain period of time, divided by your follower base.
Frontend
The frontend of a website is the first thing a user sees when they visit a website. It contains all the content of the website, such as posts, pages, media, or comments.
Generation Y
Generation Y are the people who have grown up with access to a lot of technology and digital innovations. They are today's digital natives.
Generation Z (GenZ)
Generation Z is the generation born after the Millennials, also referred to as Generation Y. The history of Generation Z follows that of Generation Alpha.
Google Ads
Google Ads are paid advertisements that can be displayed in Google search results or on websites in the Google advertising network. These ads can be used as part of search engine advertising.
Guerilla Marketing
Guerrilla marketing is an unconventional marketing strategy that heavily relies on surprising people to stand out visually. It often involves finding creative ways to promote brands and draw attention to them.
HTML
HTML is a text-based markup language that promotes organized design of digital content such as websites. It can include images, text, and hyperlinks.
Impressions
In the marketing context, an impression refers to an individual view and thus a metric for, for example, a social media post, a blog post, or an advertisement.
Inbound Marketing
Inbound marketing refers to a marketing technique that aims to have potential customers or applicants make an inquiry on their own after becoming aware of a company or product. A measure strongly related to this is content marketing.
Influencer Marketing
Influencer marketing refers to targeted cooperation between companies and influencers, for example on social media channels such as Instagram, Youtube, or TikTok. The focus is on partnerships with influencers who reach the desired target audience of the company. For example, a company that wants to market sports shoes can strategically partner with a sports influencer.
JavaScript
JavaScript is a general-purpose scripting language that can be used to develop complex applications. JavaScript (JS) is used for dynamic HTML in web browsers to evaluate user interactions or to change, reload, or generate content.
Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)
Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are referred to as key metrics that reflect business performance and represent a significant measure for various areas of a company. All processes and business performances can be evaluated using KPIs, and their success or failure can be determined. Various activities in companies can be analysed, controlled and, if necessary, improved using KPIs. Find further information on the most important KPIs in online marketing here.
Landing page
A landing page is a often a single-page website that is specifically designed for a particular offer and optimized for a target audience. In contrast to a full website, irrelevant information is deliberately left out.
Lead
A lead is a contact whose contact details are known, allowing the company to contact them again in the future. The lead can have different qualities, depending on how far along the contact is on the customer journey.
Meta Description
The term meta description is a short description of the content below a web browser link, encouraging users to click on the link. The meta description is the user's first point of contact with the website and related products.
Metaverse
The metaverse is a virtual environment in which users can navigate and use virtual goods with the help of avatars. The term metaverse has been coined mainly by Meta (formerly Facebook) in the recent past.
Target Audience
A target audience is a group of people with certain characteristics, needs, or interests that define them and can be addressed in marketing efforts.
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Stay tuned... The glossary is constantly being expanded!
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